Intra in cubiculum tuum

May 9, 2009

The house is full of company this weekend. Big doin’s afoot. Thus:

All the grandparents are in town. Pancho is making his First Communion today at 2. Tomorrow is also his 8th birthday and it’s Mother’s Day. Two of our smaller girls are leaving us on Sunday, as one set of grandparents is taking them on a long-promised Disney cruise next week.

I spent most of Thursday fooling around with python and our product’s API. Any opportunity to reacquaint myself with python is A Good Thing, and I really should spend a little bit of time every week poking around with it.

The weather here has been – if I may risk my erudition here – craptacular. Huzzah for the rain and all that, but really, we’ve had enough now. All the creeks and rivers are well over their banks, the ground is so wet that there are large standing puddles everywhere and part of our garden area looks like a paddy. To say nothing of the mosquitoes.

I don’t want to turn this into a current events sort of blog, because my posting schedule is just too random. Even so, my thoughts on the local National Day of Prayer kerfuffle. Namely, the fuss raised around here over the mayor and governor’s attendance.

On the one hand, as E. quite correctly pointed out to me, this is a private event which is privately funded. If elected officials wish to attend in support of their constituents or as private citizens, no one has any right to prevent it. But the more I mulled this over, the more I couldn’t quite put my finger on why the whole thing just didn’t sit right. The more I pruned and weeded (my favorite mulling activities), the closer I got, and then it hit me:

When you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, who love to stand and pray in the synagogues and on street corners so that others may see them. Amen, I say to you, they have received their reward.

But when you pray, go to your inner room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will repay you (Mt 6:5-6)

The line between public witness and a public display of religiosity for its own sake may be fine indeed, and it’s probably just as well – none of us were promised an easy road. But what do I know? I’ve my own issues of pride to deal with. Was it prideful to say that?

Probably.

Rats. See what I mean?

One Response to “Intra in cubiculum tuum”

  1. Marjorie Says:

    I am quite sure your use of the word ‘craptacular’ has its origin in the French word ‘crapaud’ which can be translated as toad, a flaw in a gem, or colloquially – a brat. Thus, chez vous the weather has been extremely flawed, or could be compared to a bratty uncooperative child, or simply, it has been as repugnant as a toad of late. All are possible, but, just don’t call me toady for upholding your eruditon 🙂


Leave a Reply

