Home again, home again.

July 27, 2008

Just got back into town after a week in Seattle, where I was holed up in a training root for 4 days learning a little more about the products that I’m supposed to be selling. Or assisting in selling – there’s supposed to be a strict separation of Engineering and Sales, though in practice, that wall is little more than a curb. In any case, I thought I knew the stuff pretty well but came away with a whole new bag of tricks and quite a few questions answered. I go back in a few weeks for another session, then a one-day deal in NY some time in September to round things out.

I’m not crazy about the cross-country travel, nor about being away from home for a week at a stretch. The choice in this case was sort of mine – as soon as I got the green light to sign up for training, I max’ed my schedule out just in case someone changed their mind down the road.

In any event, it was nice to re-visit Seattle. I haven’t been in years, though I have some cousins and such that we used to visit there every-so-often when my brothers and I were small. The waterfront area is nicer than I remember, and I was pleased to see that for all of the other development going on, institutions like Ivar’s and Ye Olde Curiosity Shop are still going strong. And, please – daytime temps in the mid-60s? During July? I actually saw some ads on TV with “Beat the heat with our summer savings” and wanted to laugh. Then I was reminded that few homes out there have central AC, so an 80 degree day is sort of a bummer. Oh well. It’s all relative, I guess.

In other news, our smallest boy hurt his arm on the trampoline on the night before I left town. Turns out that he has a small break and will need to have it re-set early Tuesday morning, for which they will need to put him under. The temporary splint and bandage don’t seem to have slowed him down at all, though he’s a bit peeved at missing out on the pool for now. The new cast, we are assured, will be 100% waterproof and safe for use in the pool and tub. Who knew? In any case, little guys heal fast and he should be right as rain in about 3 more weeks. Everyone else is just groovy.

I picked up The Once and Future King for in-flight reading and passing the evenings while away. I read it years ago but only remembered bits and pieces of it as I was in the midst of the Great High School Breakup period. I’m in the last section now and enjoying it, though maybe not as much as Pyle’s versions. Soon as I wrap it up, it’ll be back to Great Expectations.

4 Responses to “Home again, home again.”

  1. sandysays1 Says:

    Like your blog. Its well written and provides a very empathetic life view.

  2. PeregrinJoe Says:

    I have only been to Seattle once. I went on business and ate at Ivar’s. Excellent seafood. I especially liked the chowder.

    Sorry to hear about your boy. It is amazing though how quickly they bounce back from stuff like that.

  3. v Says:

    So, this is not actually in response to your post, but I don’t have your email address. (Sad, I know.) I found a link to some good baker’s blogs in one of my food feeds and wanted to share:
    http://www.slashfood.com/2008/07/23/slashfood-ate-8-great-baking-blogs/

  4. PeregrinJoe Says:

    Umm…this may be a stupid question, but I am assuming that if this blog is still open, you are getting this through email…but are you going to be posting again here any time in the future? Have you moved to a new blog? And if so, may I know where you have moved to?

    I always enjoyed reading your posts and have missed them.

    Thanks, I hope all is well with you and all your little hobbits.


Leave a Reply

