Back, sort of.

June 18, 2008

Back from vacation. E and the kids are still in Atlanta visiting folks, which means I’m flying solo here at home for the week. It’s just as well – we’re at the end of our quarter and things are getting a little…testy. We had a great time on the trip: pool time, hanging around, the beach, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera. Took in a few movies, too: Iron Man, The Hulk and Indy 4. A good time was had by all.

Bookwise, I read Bernard Corwell’s Sharpe’s Tiger (which was really good) and started Desolation Island, which is great so far. My dad loaned me Ken Follet’s World Without End, and I just ordered a copy of Jessie Weston’s From Ritual to Romance from Amazon. I was spurred to order it after watching Apocalypse Now Redux last night. Three-hours-plus of Coppola’s Vietnam nightmare. I’m glad I saw it – the original cut has been a favorite of mine for years – but probably will not be revisiting it any time soon. Towards the end, From Ritual to Romance is seen on Kurtz’s desk, alongside Frazer’s The Golden Bough. I’ve read Frazer and occasionally go back to it, just for the literary ya-yas. As to it’s place in anthropology, I’m not qualified to judge. It’s impact on literature in general (and Eliot in particular) makes it worth a visit.

On deck: Das Boot and a few more ultra-quiet evenings before everyone returns to the mother ship.

Leave a Reply

