A Poem

June 9, 2008

Bluebell’s second to last language lesson, from Primary Language Lessons by Emma Serl, was to copy 16 “proverbs”.  Things like “A stitch in time saves nine” and “Think before you speak.”  Her last lesson was to write a composition illustrating one of the proverbs.  

I explained the lesson to her, gave her a small example, and sent her on her way.  I was really holding by breath, because I don’t have a creative writing bone in my body and would find this assignment EXTREMELY difficult.  And even though we’ve done little formal creative writing, this really seems to be a strength for her, so I shouldn’t have worried.  She came down ten minutes later and asked if she could compose a poem for the assignment.  I said, “Sure!”  Here’s what she composed.  Can you guess the proverb?  (Next year’s lesson:  rhyme scheme)

 

Bob

There was a boy

Named Bob McCoy

He hated to go to bed early

 

He went to bed late

And couldn’t tolerate

The way he had to rush

 

He went to school

And got bad grades

About the Viking raids

 

He went home and went to bed

And dreamt and dreamt

That sleepy head

 

He woke up early

And wasn’t surly

Because he needn’t rush

 

He went to school

And got good grades

About the Gold Rush

 

And now you know

The story of a boy

Named Bob McCoy

 

So… (see comments for the proverb, if you haven’t yet guessed)

7 Responses to “A Poem”

  1. ezmerelda Says:

    …early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.

  2. Vicki Says:

    Bluebell did a great job! How creative she is!


  3. I am completely impressed! Brilliant!!

  4. PeregrinJoe Says:

    Wonderful! Good for you too by giving her guidelines and still allowing her to explore the assignment in her own way. It is that kind of teaching that makes kids fall in love with learning!

    BTW, I know you are into mushrooms. I have posted a mushroom identification mystery over at my blog I would love to have your help with please.

    Thanks!

  5. PeregrinJoe Says:

    By “into mushrooms” I of course meant as a scientific study, not as a hallucinogen. Sorry I just realized how that looked!

  6. PeregrinJoe Says:

    Fosco: I foudn otu what it is. Thanks!

  7. PeregrinJoe Says:

    I also found out that I apparently cannot spell.


Leave a Reply

