One month in. Pie.

June 1, 2008

So here we are at the end of my first month on the new job. If the precipitous drop-off in posting hasn’t been enough of an indication, I’ve been busy. Real busy. Busier, in fact, than I’ve been in months and maybe even years. This is a good thing, because I haven’t had any serious challenges in quite some time.

I spent most of the day either on the phone, hammering out e-mail, or on my way to visit customers in my territory, which covers three states. Most of my appointments are here in town, but I’ve made several single-night trips to far-flung parts of our “patch” (as we call it), averaging about one per week. I have to be much smarter about managing my time, which means that the downtime during the day, during which I used to do the majority of my writing, is consumed instead with planning, writing or studying product documentation. For the overnights, I typically hit the road after dinner with the family, arrive late to the hotel and crash. I get up the next morning, do my appointments and hit the road for home in the early afternoon, usually returning 24 hours after I left. It’s not a bad deal.

Life in a sales organization is like nothing I’ve done before, so the sheer change from customer to vendor has been exhilarating. Strictly speaking, my focus is on engineering but…it’s presales engineering, make no mistake.

A few things have changed ’round here as a result of this new gig. First, I tend to work longer hours when I’m at home. This is expected, when your commute consists of shuffling from one room to another. It also means that it’s a little harder to unplug. So far, so good. At around 5, E discontinues asking the kids to stay quiet. Her little way of reminding me that it’s time to ‘come home’. I try to limit my Internet time after hours, so far to good effect. If I skim through my RSS feeds at all, it might be while I eat lunch

Second, working at a more frenetic pace during the week makes the transition to the weekend all the more abrupt (and glorious). Knocking out yardwork and errands on Saturday, then doing nothing on Sunday – both are considerably more savory than they used to be.

Finally, I thought the travel would be difficult to stomach, but one overnight a week isn’t bad at all, and 80% of our territory is within a 3-4 hour drive. The home-office time more than offsets it – even when I’m booked up with appointments around town, I’m usually home by the early afternoon. Transit times are sometimes used for conference calls, so the handsfree bluetooth thing in the car has been a godsend.

Movies we’ve seen: The Thin Man, The Devil Wears Prada and Borat. Yes, Borat. I laughed at most of it. Her, only parts. Must be a guy thing. Still working our way through season 2 of BSG. I’m still on my Shakespeare project, and am about halfway through Much Ado About Nothing. I’m still not clear on what all the fuss is about. Har, har.

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary in May, and are taking an adults-only trip down the Florida panhandle in a couple of weeks. The brood will be left with my parents, and all parties concerned are ecstatic. Us most of all, as I’m sure you can imagine. I promise you that it won’t be another 8 years before we sneak away.

Now I must away. It’s time to fire up the grill – we’re trying out a grilled sausage technique that was in this month’s Cook’s Illustrated. This blueberry pie came from the same issue. Look upon it and tremble.

Dessert

One Response to “One month in. Pie.”

  1. PeregrinJoe Says:

    Thanks so much for the update. Sounds like things are going well for you and yours. That pie looks amazing, I am impressed, very impressed.


Leave a Reply

