Day One

May 1, 2008

Well. Today I start my new gig, which is going to be generally based here at home. I have an office, but no gear yet. I’m told it will show up some time today. I’m already booked on a there-and-back-again trip to Atlanta tomorrow, and my account executive has the next week pretty well planned out. It feels a little strange to be sitting here doing…well, nothing, but things will be picking up shortly and my downtime should be fairly minimal.

Unpacking all of my office paraphernalia at home had a curious collision-of-worlds vibe. On the one hand, I was at home. On the other hand, here were all the things that I’ve trucked from desk to desk over the years, some things for over 15 years. The lava lamp has been on every desk I’ve used since college. Some of the books date back to my first admin jobs. I’m probably not going to be managing any sendmail or usenet servers any more, but I’m loathe to get rid of the O’Reilly books covering same. Ditto for my copy of Concise Guide to MS-DOS Batch File Programming. You just never know. I’d rather have it and not need it than vice versa.

No, I have not shaved. Let the scuzzification begin.

One Response to “Day One”

  1. PeregrinJoe Says:

    I am so jealous.


Leave a Reply

