New job

April 17, 2008

So, the thing that was cooking is this: I’m starting a new job in a couple of weeks. This represents somewhat of a career change for me, so I’m a little nervous but still very excited. I’ll be based out of a home office and traveling a little around the region as a “field service engineer”, which basically means that I accompany an account executive and answer technical questions about the products. I can do this with a minimum of hassle because we used quite a few of these products at my current-soon-to-be-former employer and know full well how great they are, albeit a little on the pricey side. In any case, it’s the first time I’ve ever worked in a sales-type of role.

Luckily, the AE I’m working with is pretty seasoned so I can concentrate on technical stuff for now. He’s a strong believer in minimizing the amount of overnight traveling, which is another bonus. Our location puts us within about a 4 hour drive of most of our territory, so we should be able to do day trips throughout the middle of the week, reserving Mondays and Fridays for office days.

I’m pretty stoked. A couple of former co-workers have already moved over to this company, so I’ll already know some of the folks on the team. I haven’t worked from home in several years now, but thoroughly enjoyed it when I did. We’re having to rejigger some of the rooms in order to clear enough room for an office, but everyone seems to be taking it in stride. The sleeping arrangements were going to change anyway, so they’re just changing a little ahead of schedule.

Anyway, it’s been brewing for a couple of weeks, but for obvious reasons I had to keep mum.
Having given notice at work, I can talk about it now with no small amount of relief.

Oh, and: W00T!

5 Responses to “New job”

  1. PeregrinJoe Says:

    Congratulations! That’s exciting news. If you have any trainer/HR positions open, let me know. I am in the market for something new myself.

    May God richly bless you in your new role!

  2. fosco Says:

    Thanks! I’ll keep my eyes peeled, though I think we’re in sort of a non-growth phase at the moment.

  3. PeregrinJoe Says:

    “sort of a non-growth phase at the moment…” That is probably a great way to describe the whole American economy right now! 🙂

  4. Kelly Says:

    Congratulations!!! I hope the transition goes smoothly and you really enjoy the new job!

  5. fosco Says:

    Thanks, Kelly! So far, just still trying to get through the last 2 weeks.


Leave a Reply

