Language, and our responsibilities to it.

April 3, 2008

I place a great deal of stock in precision in language. Words and how they are used, after all, are a direct manifestation of our thoughts. Once upon a time, I’d wanted to teach English, but a quarter in the College of Education cured me of that. I didn’t even finish it out, dropping the classes and immediately applying to the Journalism school. I never worked as a journalist, but have nevertheless found that a command of language is an invaluable tool regardless of the field of work. It was very common for me to, over time, acquire the additional role of copy editor/wordsmith for whoever my manager happened to be at the time. Frankly, I was happy to do it. Few things give a grammatical nitpicker pleasure like ruthlessly editing a poorly-written press release, e-mail or customer communication.

I’ve occasionally considered returning to school to study literature, perhaps with an eye towards teaching it when I get older and have more time and fewer responsibilities. Usually, a brief chat with a friend of ours who actually is a college English teacher is enough to bring me back to reality. So I press on – slowly picking my way through the Canon and brushing up on usage and style whenever I can. Curiously, the improving ability to clearly express myself has also resulted in a…I’m not sure how to put this…greater sensitivity to what I hear when I’m listening to others. Here is a person, expressing their thoughts. What I do not hear – the pauses, omissions, brief reflections – tell me almost as much as the words themselves. It’s worth the time to carefully listen to the other person, to reflect on the totality of their expression.

This, I think, is a great gift, and one that I hope we can pass along to our children. I think anyone can attain it. Take up and read. Find things that are difficult and try them. Revisit the things you read in high school and college – you will doubtlessly find that a few years of life experience since graduation will bring these books back into clear focus. You will be surprised – don’t be. They are classics for a reason. Themes and symbols that utterly escape the average teenager will come into clear relief after you’ve spent some time in relationships, getting married, starting a family, building a career, struggling and so on.

The plan, inasmuch as we have one, looks something like this:

  • Increase their exposure to good books, teaching them to read as soon as they are ready, and make a library card an important rite-of-passage.
  • Eliminate the presence of the television in our home. There is no cable or satellite connection.
  • Carefully monitor their use of other visual media – we have a room just for movies, and they are allowed to watch things from a small library we keep.
  • Associate, as much as we can, with others who share similar views
  • Emphasize the role of communication and text in terms of our relationship with God, through participation in the Liturgy, study of the Scriptures and acquaintance with the Fathers.
  • Set the example by continuously improving and learning on our own. We don’t stop learning until we die and we know as we are known.
  • Seek wisdom in the received texts of our western patrimony
  • Utterly reject of the modern method of criticism. Strive to understand the works on their own terms and in their own contexts. The dead, too, deserve a vote.
  • Encourage an intense curiosity in (and appreciation of) the natural world around us, which hopefully leads to further reading and research.

The fruits, I think, are already evident. Glossing over things isn’t as easy as it used to be with our oldest children, and the younger ones are hot on their heels. The four-year-old will probably start her reading lessons this summer. Our youngest progresses daily in talking. The baby…well, she’s still just crawling around. Let’s not go crazy here.

3 Responses to “Language, and our responsibilities to it.”

  1. PeregrinJoe Says:

    Amen! And again I say Amen! Excellent post. I wholeheartedly agree. Learning is a life-long journey and if that thirst for knowledge and understanding can be imparted to a child, they will have a lifetime filled with treasures and delightful discoveries.

    And you are very accurate in your thoughts regarding the classics. I am revisiting many classics I “should” have read in high school but glossed over because I was convinced they had nothing to say to me, a 17 year old who obviously had it all figured out–HA! Now, when I read those books I find them wonderful, poignant, and very relevant.

  2. fosco Says:

    Thanks.

    My ongoing reading project has been idle for a little while, but I’m ramping up to get back into it shortly. In addition to relevance, let’s face it, much of the humor is lost on kids. I read Tom Sawyer any number of times as a kid, but as I re-read it at bedtime I was astonished at the fierceness of Twain’s satire, especially in the little asides. The kids heard, as I did originally, the adventures of a boy and his band of friends. As an adult, the experience was completely different.

  3. PeregrinJoe Says:

    You are right. I find it is the same with The Chronicles of Narnia. When I read them as a kid (7 times!) I saw them as magical adventure stories. As an adult, the story of Christ is so evident in them it amazes me that I did not see it the first times I read them. I think we learn to love great stories as kids and grow in our understanding and full appreciation of them as adults. As you said, that’s why they are called classics.


Leave a Reply

