Blogging…

January 25, 2008

…will continue to be light.

I’m taking off early today to accompany our oldest son and the rest of his cub scout pack on an overnight cave trip, which should be a whole lotta fun. I’m not exactly relishing the idea of sleeping on the cave floor, but it’s only for one night, and we’ve got some new foam pads. We’ll rejoin the rest of the family to celebrate Tulip’s birthday on Saturday, so there’s plenty going on.

We lost two more neons and the nitrite levels were still really, really high. I did a 25% water change and as of last night, the level seem to be dropping. The ammonia has disappeared, so I’m expecting the nitrite to follow up here shortly. Our other little pets (technically, a happy little colony of yest) seem to be doing pretty well – the airlock is bubbling every 8-10 seconds or so right now.

Why mead? I’m not really sure why, except that I’ve bought it a few times and liked it well enough, and you can’t deny the whole Beowulf vibe. Next stop, the mere.

That about sums it up. The friends we hosted last weekend passed through again last night before starting their return trip home today, so we had another table (their 6 + our 6)  full of kids at dinner. A good time was had by all, if the noise was any indication.

Now if only it would start warming up a little. I’m ready for the ground to thaw out a little, and we have all of our plant and seed catalogs at the ready. They’re stacked up, dog-eared and circled, just waiting.

One Response to “Blogging…”

  1. PeregrinJoe Says:

    I went caving once as a younger man and it is now one of my favorite memories. Your son will LOVE it, and I have no doubt that you will too.

    I ordered the book you reccommended and will add it to my reading list for this year. I was looking for another historical work to round out my reading list and this one will do very nicely indeed.

    I too am looking forward to spring. My seed catalogues have been poured over numerous times and I have a very grand design for my vegetable garden this year. My back yard seems to get smaller as my garden gets bigger each spring and summer. I found that once I started gardening, I asked myself why I had not started sooner!


Leave a Reply

