Visitors, garage doors, paludaria and Spenser.

November 5, 2007

Hwæt! Our weekend was full. A dear friend of my wife’s came to visit us over the weekend. Her eldest and ours were boon companions back in Atlanta, so the boys spend most of the weekend tearing around the house and yard while the rest of us just sort of steered clear. They left early Sunday morning, which was a bummer.

For my part, I spent nearly all of Sunday replacing our garage door opener. This is something I’d sort of tackled at our old house, though in that case I was only swapping the motor out. This was, essentially, a full replacement of everything and I’m happy to report that I only made two trips to the hardware store medias in res. And I managed to avoid major injury or further damage to other parts of the house. As a bonus, the whole thing works. Door goes up and down, lights come on, etc. I may go back and re-hang the thing from the ceiling a little more neatly, or perhaps I won’t. We’ll see.

Working all day in the garage also pointed out the need of a bona fide workbench with some decent lighting. The alternative is to continue to do without, which means sawing things on a step-stool while I hold them in place with my foot. Not good.

Starting to look again at paludaria, and am thinking that this might be an interesting wintertime project. What is a paludarium? Something between an aquarium and a terrarium: water for fish, land for plants. A paludarium seeks to re-create the biotope found at the margin of a river or pond, and they’re commonly used to provide habitats for frogs and whatnot. The land and water sections are segregated, and it’s this bit that’s causing me a little confusion. How to provide drainage for plants in the ‘dry’ section? Without it, we stand a very good chance of turning the dry land into a bog. Nasty. Maybe you just have to be very judicious with watering, but I don’t see any way around it beyond drilling the bottom of the tank and putting a catch pan under there. Stick to air-plants and moss? Bah. More research is clearly needed.

Ah, and before November gets too far underway, let’s hear from Spenser.

Next was November, he full grosse and fat,
As fed with lard, and that right well might seeme;
For, he had been a fatting hogs of late,
That yet his browes with sweat, did reek and steem,
And yet the season was full sharp and breem;
In planting eeke he took no small delight:
Whereon he rode, not easie was to deeme;
For it a dreadfull Centaure was in sight,
The seed of Saturne, and faire Nais, Chiron hight…

3 Responses to “Visitors, garage doors, paludaria and Spenser.”

  1. PeregrinJoe Says:

    Wow. I love reading your blog, I feel like I learn something new every time I do. I had no idea what a paludaria was, and now I wnat to create one myself!

    BTW, how are you coming along with your NaNoWriMo project?

  2. fosco Says:

    Re: NaNoWriMo. I basically forgot about it for 2 or 3 days, and by then it was too late. I can barely come up with the spare time/energy to exercise, to say nothing of blocking an hour or so per night to dedicate to writing. In honor of NaNoWriMo, I will attempt to actually finish the No I’m reading at the moment.

    I saw that link, a few others besides. If you get into my del.icio.us list, I’ve a half-dozen or so paludarim/vivarium links tagged.


Leave a Reply

