Beware the one-armed man…

September 15, 2007

Blogging may be light for a little while as I’ve lost the use of one arm and hand. I had my first cycling accident yesterday and am now intimate with new terms such as “road rash”. I may (or may not) have fractured something in one arm, so the bump-n-scrape place splinted and slung me just in case, then told me to follow up with an orthopedist in a week. It was my own fault for riding too close alongside a raised lip of concrete which caught the front tire and sent me sprawling along the sidewalk.

Thanks to a helmet (which I now must replace), I walked away from it largely uninjured.

I bolded that for emphasis. Show it to everyone you know. I hit my head hard enough to bruise my temple from the inside of the helmet. I would have otherwise have been in seriously bad shape.

I feel fine otherwise, though this may be due in no small part to the hydrocodone and naproxin.

Anyway, the real shame is that I was going to do another 25 mile ride today and the weather is magnificent. Oh well. Poop happens.

Perhaps I can press Ezmerelda into service as an amaneusis.

One Response to “Beware the one-armed man…”

  1. josephmcbee Says:

    Wow! I am glad you are relatively alright. I will pray for a quick and speedy recovery for you so you can get back on that bike in no time! (With a brand new helmet and a healthy respect for curbs no doubt.)


Leave a Reply

