Dr. Mohler on Books

September 12, 2007

I cannot really remember when I did not love to read books. I do know that I was very eager to learn to read, and that I quickly found myself immersed in the world of books and literature. It may have been a seduction of sorts, and the Christian disciple must always be on guard to guide the eyes to books worthy of a disciple’s attention — and there are so many.

As Solomon warned, “Of making many books there is no end” [Ecclesiastes: 12:12].

Some Thoughts on the Reading of Books

Catholics might consider adding Augustine, Aquinas or some of the other Fathers to his fourth bullet point. I read some of Luther and most of Calvin’s Institutes as part of my long-term reading project (which is currently stalled while I work through my latest fantasy kick). Luther was interesting, but I found Calvin about as exciting as an appliance service manual.

Though I pray the Morning Office daily, and the Night Office with my wife and older kids right before their bedtime, I could still stand to immerse myself a little more fully in Scripture. I’ll probably come up with a reading plan for Advent – without some sort of structure or goal in mind, I find it very difficult to simply tolle et lege.

Folks unfamiliar with Dr. Mohler’s blog should take a look. He’s an excellent writer and an interesting exegete.

2 Responses to “Dr. Mohler on Books”

  1. josephmcbee Says:

    If you are interested in reading the Bible, Discipleship Journal has some excellent free Bible reading plans at

    http://www.navpress.com/Magazines/DiscipleshipJournal/BibleReadingPlans/

    I realize that you are Catholic, and these plans don’t include the Apocrypha (sp?), but it would be a good start. I read through the Bible almost every single year using these plans.

    Happy reading!

  2. fosco Says:

    These look pretty good – thanks for the link.


Leave a Reply

