More spider stuff

September 7, 2007

The sudden late-summer appearance of Argiope spiders and the concomitant blogging of same reminded me of a bit of video I saw a month or two back and completely forgot to post here. Or at least I think I forgot to post it. I just perused last month and didn’t see it. Anyway, without further ado, I present A Jumping Spider and his Drum Solo of Love.

Two things came to mind when I watched this.

  1. Cool!
  2. How on earth does you record sounds that tiny?

Anyway, enjoy.

I should note at this point that over the last year or so, I’ve come to a much greater respect for spiders, provided they stay in their world (which is to say, outside). Moreover, I will not whack them if they happen to be inside and I can get them out. But, if I find them on my person – a toe, for example – they will be whacked. Dura lex, sed lex. To peruse this blog, you might think I was a gushing fan of the little monsters. Not quite. Let’s just say we’ve reached a state of détente.

Leave a Reply

