Insect Safari 3

September 2, 2007

Pennsylvania Leatherwing (Chauliognathus pennsylvanicus)

Black and Yellow Garden Spider (Argiope aurantia), with an unlucky Skipper. This particular spider had also snared 2 full-sized Monarch butterflies and an adult dragonfly, which ought to give you some idea regarding its size. It was big. Real big.

Katydid, unknown species

Another Argiope. This one was near my in-law’s house. Not as big as the other (which was in the landscaping at my employer’s HQ building), but still plenty to creep out on.

2 Responses to “Insect Safari 3”

  1. Vicki Says:

    I just finished posting a photo of our black and yellow argiope on my blog when I ran across yours. Pretty cool finding her with butterfly prey; although I may have been tempted to try to free those guys. Ours was eating a housefly and I said yea!

  2. fosco Says:

    Thanks. You’ve posted a beautiful shot, as well. We’ve since found our very own spider next to our deck, a medium-sized female. I’ll try to get a picture of her up in the next few days.


Leave a Reply

