Feast of the Martyrdom of John The Baptist

August 29, 2007

The king said to the girl,
“Ask of me whatever you wish and I will grant it to you.”
He even swore many things to her,
“I will grant you whatever you ask of me,
even to half of my kingdom.”
She went out and said to her mother,
“What shall I ask for?”
She replied, “The head of John the Baptist.”

This is the day that the Church celebrates the martyrdom of St. John the Baptist, of whom his father foretold: You, my child, shall be called the prophet of the Most High, for you will go before the Lord to prepare His way, to give His people knowledge of salvation by the forgiveness of their sins. In the tender compassion of our God, the dawn from on high shall break upon us, to shine on those who dwell in the darkness of the shadow of death, and to guide our feet into the way of peace.

Of himself, the Precursor said: He must increase, I must decrease.

Thus should we all pray.

One Response to “Feast of the Martyrdom of John The Baptist”

  1. josephmcbee Says:

    Amen and Amen!


Leave a Reply

