It’s time to make the music

August 20, 2007

We’re a fairly musical group of folks.

I’ve had an on-again/off-again affair with the acoustic guitar for going on 20 years now. Right now I own 3, but only semi-regularly play one of them. The others (my very first acoustic and a hardscrabble twelve-string) are squirreled away in a closet someplace. I play entirely by ear, and know enough chords to fake just about anything with the hybrid strumming-fingerpick style I’ve managed to develop. The kids love it, and I really should pull it out more often than I do.

A few years ago we acquired a piano from my in-laws – our two oldest take lessons now, and it’s been gratifying to watch them develop.I’m not sure how many of our friends know this, but I’m going to out Ezmerelda as a former barbershop quartet singer.  So it’s not a stretch to say that we think music is pretty important. Since the TV was retired some time ago, you can usually find us listening to the radio or streaming audio from the PC. I used iTunes to create a fast-paced ‘clean up music’ playlist for the smallest kids, and it gets cranked up once or twice a week as a bit of incentive to get the bedrooms and family room cleared up.

Anyway, this is a long way around to present this really cool website by Dennis Havlena, who present instructions for making a whole slew of different instruments, usually for nothing (or next to nothing). Some of them require a bit of skill in the woodshop, but others are as simple as can be. As summer winds down (HA!) and we can guiltlessly focus on more indoor stuff, I think I’ll probably be giving a couple of the projects a try.

Leave a Reply

