Nice bit on homeschooling…

June 18, 2007

…at On The Square, the First Things blog. I’m not entirely certain, but this essay by Sally Thomas on the perceived tension between homeschooling and the salt/light mandate of the Gospel may also mark the first use of the word “boinking” at that blog.

And a good Father’s Day weekend was had by all: my folks and others landed en masse on Friday and we spent the entire weekend hanging out, watching the kids all splash in an inflatable pool and eating too much. Man alive, it was hot outside.

This was their first trip out to see the new house and newest grandchild, and we were all sorry for the weekend to end. Right on the heels of this weekend, we have another wave of visitors landing this weekend for Buttercup’s baptism on Saturday.

2 Responses to “Nice bit on homeschooling…”

  1. josephmcbee Says:

    Hello,

    I just discovered your blog and LOVE it. I am really enjoying reading it.

    My wife and I homeschool our 3 amazing sons (13, 10, and 9), so I can relate to all that you are saying, although we use a more eclectic style with literature and texts from various schools of thought and traditions. It’s what works best for our kids and my wife, who does most of the teaching.

    I am also currently working my way through “the works” of Shakepeare, although I am not nealry as far along as you. I just finished The Tempest and am now on Two Gentlemen of Verona. I supplement that with a list of the “100 Greatest Novels Ever Written.” I just finished The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane, which I thought was wonderful.

    Also, if you really liked Kung Fu Hustle, you might want to try the Kung-fu movie called Hero. The fight scenes are like violent ballet, and the imagery is pure art. It’s not humorous, but it is excellent all the same.

    I look forward to reading more.

  2. fosco Says:

    Thanks for the kind words.

    My principle motivation for working through the Western Canon was actual a little selfish: the kids will (or should) eventually read some of these. They might ask about them, and I wasn’t going to have a clue. Over time, the project took on a life of its own, so now I’m doing it as much for myself. We’ve been a television-free house now for going on 3 years, which has freed up some spare time (but with 6 kids…only a little).

    We liked Hero very much. Somewhere on one of my zillions of RSS feeds, someone published a list of “Greatest Kung Fu Movies”, so I immediately filled up the Netflix queue with all the ones I’d managed to miss.


Leave a Reply

